Falsely Accused

#21 RKT -- FALSELY ACCUSED -- cover

 

Book Eight, Falsely Accused, rings true and truth in the bestselling Butch Karp legal thriller series.  This time, Karp and his crime-fighting wife, Marlene, struggle to protect the abused and wrongly accused from powerful enemies.
 
This time, famed prosecutor Butch Karp is on the side of the unjustly accused plaintiff when the Chief Medical Examiner of New York City is fired and accused of gross incompetence. Karp may be in private practice now, but he still knows the ins and outs of the New York City brass, and his investigation into the wrongful termination soon reveals rot that goes all the way to City Hall.
 
Meanwhile, Karp’s fearless wife, Marlene, works to protect dozens of the city’s abused women. The two fight injustice everywhere they find it as the city spins madly out of control.

Editorial Reviews

Amazon.com Review

The dynamic crime-solving duo of Butch Karp and his feisty wife, Marlene Ciampi, is back, and this time they have an extra set of brains: their 7-year-old daughter, Lucy. Falsely Accused is Robert K. Tanenbaum’s eighth book in this ongoing series featuring Butch and Marlene as they uncover big-city misdeeds, sleaze, and corruption.

In this edge-of-the-seat thriller, Butch is working as a litigator for a New York law firm, defending a bigwig client named Murray Selig, who was recently fired as chief medical examiner. The circumstances surrounding Selig’s dismissal are questionable to say the least, and very soon a veritable hot pot of political wrongdoings is exposed.

Meanwhile, Marlene is busy burning the candle at both ends.  She’s a full-time mom to the precocious Lucy, and she also heads a detective agency specializing in the protection of battered women.  More troubles…

Tanenbaum brilliantly blends several subplots and mininarratives–what is the secret of the two refugee children? What are the mayor and D.A. hiding? What is the story behind the deaths of several New York cabbies? Tanenbaum convincingly (and amazingly) pulls together these separate plots into a gripping conclusion.

Falsely Accused  is more than just a suspenseful thriller–it is a fascinating exploration of legal and courtroom procedures, recounted in scrupulous detail. Fans of Butch and Marlene (and Lucy!) will not be disappointed.

Publishers Weekly

Followers of Tanenbaum’s intelligent series set in the 1970s, featuring married lawyers Butch Karp and Marlene Ciampi, will find that the author’s punchy style perfectly suits his latest three-ring crime spectacle. After years on New York City payrolls, both attorneys have quit for private work.  Karp for a top firm and Marlene, after keeping house for a while, to start a detective agency with her burnt-out ex-cop pal Harry Bello.
 
For his first case, Karp represents Manhattan’s Chief Medical Examiner as he sues to get his job back, plus damages, after he has been fired by the mayor working in tandem with Karp’s old nemesis, D.A. Sanford Bloom. Marlene finds her new challenge in the schoolyard where her seven-year-old daughter, Lucy, plays. When a young mother ask Marlene’s help in stopping a stalker, Marlene’s sleuthing leads her to a Lower East Side women’s shelter where Lucy befriends two traumatized children and insists that her mother help them.
 
The plot curve, unsurprisingly to those who know the series, is tossed by regal but ever-difficult journalist Ariadne Stupenagel, Marlene’s pushy college buddy, who’s digging into the suspicious suicides of three Gypsy cabbies while in police custody. What she unearths is improbably connected to both Marlene’s and Karp’s cases.
 
The links among these three very dissimilar narrative threads strains credulity, but Tanenbaum’s talent is large, and so are his characters. These assets, along with a shot of genuine compassion for the troubles of children, enable him to pull it off with flair. If readers won’t quite believe the shockingly unconventional resolution, they’ll certainly be affected by it, leaving them eager to know where this heroic family of crimefighters goes from here.  Copyright 1996 Reed Business Information, Inc.

Booklist

Just when it seems that Tanenbaum has written himself into a corner–that he cannot conceivably continue his multivolume narrative of Butch Karp and Marlene Ciampi, spouses, attorneys, and “contrarians” in the button-down world of law enforcement–the longtime prosecutor/novelist pulls a rabbit out of his hat. At the end of Corruption of Blood , Butch, Marlene, and daughter Lucy left Washington for New York without immediate employment prospects.
 

Here Karp has spent over a year as the well-compensated pit-bull litigator for a downtown law firm, and Marlene is getting antsy after a year as a full-time mom. Soon Marlene partners with cop Harry Bello in a PI firm, and Karp sues New York City for former Chief Medical Examiner Murray Selig, fired at the urging of Manhattan DA (and Karp/Ciampi nemesis) Sanford Bloom. Tanenbaum draws together subplots involving political and police corruption, domestic violence, and illegal immigration in an involving tale that also illuminates Karp’s and Ciampi’s romantic and parental challenges. Mary Carroll

Kirkus Reviews

Butch Karp has left the Manhattan D.A.’s office, but not the legal hot-seat, as this blistering novel of endless Big Apple corruption and coverups makes abundantly clear. Butch’s client–a client he’s taken on over the howls of his firm’s colleagues (who prefer to hold their star litigator over the heads of their own handpicked enemies) — is ex-Chief Medical Examiner Dr. Murray Selig.  Dr. Selig was tossed out of office on trumped-up charges so risible that the Mayor and D.A. Sanford Bloom must have something else in mind–something pretty dire.
 

While Karp is gathering the ammunition to destroy the D.A.’s defense witnesses, Karp’s wife, Marlene Ciampi, also on the lam from the D.A.’s office, is fighting off her pushy friend, high-flying reporter Ariadne Stupenagel.  Ariadne is busy working on a story on the shakedown of three New York cabbies who fortuitously died in police custody–long enough to set up her own agency serving women who need help enforcing protective legal orders against strangers or sadists or former lovers who are stalking them. Ciampi’s highly effective vigilante tactics–heaven help the stalker she gets her teeth into–give Tanenbaum’s tale a shot of welcome humor…

Amazingly, Tanenbaum manages to pull all four cases together–Selig’s civil suit against the Mayor and the D.A., Stupenagel’s investigation of the police shakedown, Ciampi’s anti-stalking campaign, and the sorry tale of refugee children Isabella and Hector–and he even finds a surprising new role for Karp and Ciampi’s precocious seven-year-old daughter Lucy.

After tossing Karp into the treacherous deeps of the Kennedy assassination (Corruption of Blood, 1995), Tanenbaum proves that his meticulous homework on questions of legal procedure, and the best Chinese restaurant for an off-the-record conversation, can turn the most preposterous conspiracy of his own into an electrifying page-turner. — Copyright ©1996, Kirkus Associates, LP. All rights reserved.

Reviews

“Plenty of suspense . . . Tanenbaum is in top form.” —Chicago Tribune
“Better than Grisham.”  —Deadly Pleasures Mystery Magazine